Skip Navigation
  • UC Riverside
  • University Advancement
  • Strategic Communications

UCR Orchestra

Saturday, February 8, 2014
  8–9:30 p.m.

  Additional Dates (2)

Location: University Theatre
  Parking Information

Category: Concert



UCR Orchestra
Ruth Charloff, conductor

Mozart: Symphony no. 40 in G minor
Mendelssohn: Hebrides Overture
Milhaud: Saudades do Brasil (selections)
Barbara Bennett: Bluesteps
Shostakovich: Ballet Suite No. 1
Jarnefelt: Praeludium

Mozart's brilliant, restless Symphony No. 40, and two very special souvenirs of travel: the French composer Darius Milhaud's Saudades do Brasil of 1920--nostalgic, samba-filled reminiscences of his stay in Rio de Janeiro--and Mendelssohn's Hebrides Overture of 1832, his vivid impressions of exploring Fingal's Cave on the wild coastline of Scotland. Also on the program is the festive Bluesteps for strings by UCR composer Barbara Bennett, and the humorous, tuneful Ballet Suite No. 1 by Shostakovich--dances viewed from a sharp angle all his own.

Admission: $10 General, $8 Students/Seniors, $6 Children

TICKETS: (951) 827-4331
Advance Tickets: available at the University Theatre Fine Arts Ticket Office,
Monday-Friday 10am-3 pm
Walk-Up Tickets: available one hour before the concert.
Ticketmaster: (213) 480-3232, (714) 740-2000,

Events are subject to change without notice.
No Reserve Seating: Seating in some venues is limited, so arrive early for best seats.
Events begin promptly at the announced curtain time.
Latecomers will be seated at an appropriate pause in the program as designated by the management.
Please order carefully. No exchanges or refunds will be made, except in the event a performance is canceled.
Regardless of age, all patrons must have a ticket. Infants on laps are not permitted.

Parking: $5 in Lot 6 (No fee with UC permit)

Open to: General Public
Admission: Entry Charge: $10 General, $8 Students/Seniors, $6 Children
Sponsor: Music Department

Contact Information:
Kathy DeAtley
(951) 827-3245