View map Free Event

Join the most celebrated authors in America and the best up-and-coming writers at the most important literary event in Southern California.

The most diverse and longest-running free literary festival in California, UCR Writers Week will mark its 46th year in 2023. This February, we will honor two highly acclaimed writers, Percival Everett and the late Mike Davis, along with thirty-one other authors.

Writers Week is free to attend and open to the public. We hope you'll join us for another fantastic event!


February 13-17, 2023

Free and open to the public.
Hybrid event (online with four in-person sessions that will be simulcast to the web).
Advance registration required.

Captioned & ASL interpreted.


Percival Everett and the late Mike Davis

2023 LA Review of Books (LARB) – UCR Department of Creative Writing Lifetime Achievement Award Honorees

Nathaniel Mackey

Stephen Minot Lecture


2023 Schedule

Session 1 runs from 1:00 - 2:15 p.m.
Session 2 runs from 2:30 - 3:45 p.m.


Monday, February 13
Session 1: Vanessa Hua, Joseph Han, Bojan Louis
Session 2: Clyde Derrick, Kate Anger, Daniel Wilson


Tuesday, February 14
Session 1: Gabriela Jauregui, Angela Peñaredondo, Boris Dralyuk
Session 2: Reza Aslan, Jennifer Croft, Courtney Cook

5:00 PM: LIVE 1128 INTS Lifetime Achievement Award: Percival Everett


Wednesday, February 15
Session 1: Morgan Talty, David Tromblay, Ramona Emerson
Session 2: LIVE 1128 INTS Charmaine Craig, Susan Straight, and a tribute to the late Mike Davis


Thursday, February 16
Session 1: Nathaniel Mackey (Steven Minot Lecture), No'u Revilla, Abigail Chabitnoy
Session 2: Xochitl-Julisa Bermejo, David Campos, Crystal AC Salas

4:00 PM: LIVE 1128 INTS: Tom Lutz and Juan Felipe Herrera


Friday, February 17
Session 1: Ashanti Anderson, Ruben Quesada, Paul Hlava Ceballos
Session 2: LIVE 1128 INTS Allison Hedge Coke, Jan Beatty, Ayize Jama-Everett




Free parking is available in Lot 1 Blue for the four in-person events for Writers Week. Permits will only be valid for 3 hours on the event date. To reserve your free parking permit, follow these steps:

Step 1: Click on the link below that corresponds with the date of the event:

Step 2. Select Filters & Access Codes on the top left.

Step 3. Enter this access code at the bottom of the pop-up window: WRITERS

Step 4. If you are map view, return to list view.

Step 5. Click the green Reserve button for assigned parking lot.

Step 6. Continue as Guest to check out.  

Remember: You must FIRST enter the access code, BEFORE reserving parking. Otherwise the lot for the event is listed as “Not Available” or “Sold Out.”

If you have trouble reserving your permit through ParkMobile, you may request assistance with using ParkMobile at the Lot 1 kiosk. Plan to arrive at least 30 minutes early if you require assistance. Please note that the kiosk does not sell parking permits.

For any other questions about event parking, please email between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4 p.m., Monday to Friday, and allow up to one business day to receive a response.


Featured Writers

Abigail Chabitnoy, Allison Adelle Hedge Coke, Angela Peñaredondo, Ashanti Anderson, Ayize Jama-Everett, Bojan Louis, Boris Dralyuk, Charmaine Craig, Clyde Derrick, Courtney Cook, Crystal AC Salas, Daniel H. Wilson, David Campos, David Jean Tromblay, Gabriela Jauregui, Jan Beatty, Jennifer Croft, Joseph Han, Juan Felipe Herrera, Kate Anger, the late Mike Davis, Morgan Talty, Nathaniel Mackey, Noʻu Revilla, Paul Hlava Ceballos, Percival Everett, Ramona D. Emerson, Reza Aslan, Ruben Quesada, Susan Straight, Tom Lutz, Vanessa Hua, and Xochitl-Julisa Bermejo


Tom Lutz 
Chair / Director, Writers Week
Publisher, Los Angeles Review of Books 
Distinguished Professor
Department of Creative Writing

Allison Adelle Hedge Coke
Co-Director, Writers Week
Distinguished Professor
Department of Creative Writing / School of Medicine-Medical Humanities

Writers Week is made possible by support from:

Inland Empire MagazineUCR Department of Ethnic StudiesUCR Department of Theatre, Film, and Digital Production, UCR LGBT Resource CenterCenter for Ideas and Society, Dr. Melissa Wilcox, Professor and Holstein Endowed Chair, Dr. Michael Alexander, Professor and Maimonides Chair in Jewish Studies, Pr. Alex Espinoza, Associate Professor, Tomás Rivera Endowed Chair of Creative Writing and English, Distinguished Professor, UCR Department of Music, Allison Adelle Hedge Coke, California Center for Native Nations, Dr. Clifford Trafzer, Distinguished Professor of History and Rupert and Jeanette Henry Costo Chair in American Indian Affairs, UCR ARTS, College of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences Dean’s Office, Native American Student Programs Office (NASP), Joshua Gonzales, Director, the Ratcliffe Family Creative Writing Endowment Fund, Los Angeles Review of Books, and Poets & Writers!


Book purchases

Books will be available for purchase from our own campus Barnes & Noble College Bookstore and Cellar Door Books, our recommended local independent store.



Event Details

Please register to attend at

User Activity

No recent activity